The Prism Viewpoint

Exploring Life as an Ally, Writer, Future Lawyer/Politician

Summer ’16

This summer is one that I’m actually looking forward to for the first time in life. I was able to snag a internship with the New York Hotel Trades council, which is a labor union, and I will be interning with their organizing department.

I’m excited for this internship, though it isn’t necessarily on the track of my career path, but I will be exposed to another mode of social justice work, and for that I’m looking forward to the experience.

It’s so weird how I can say that I will be working full time in the great city of New York. Something that I have dreamed of for a while, and it is actually becoming a reality. It is surreal and scary, yet so much a representation of the success that I have had and want to continue to have in the very near future.

I hope that my story will be inspiration to any students, especially minority students, who are afraid of the future or afraid that they won’t be able to achieve their dreams and goals. For those who never thought to dream big outside of what they already knew or had been exposed to. You can do things yo never even thought of, like studying abroad was for me, and do great things that you only dreamt about doing, as this internship is, and achieve any goals you set, as I am confident I will at one point.

Keep up the good work, be motivated, be determined, over come those inevitable obstacles, and be great. YOU CAN DO IT!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Hello there…

tashinadenise

tashinadenise

I'm a young woman who is currently studying English and Government & Politics, as well as Social justice at St. John's University. I am also an aspiring lawyer/collaborator with the Innocence Project. I am just trying to leave a positive mark on this world.

View Full Profile →

JLV College Counseling

Free college admissions and financial aid information and advice

eatcleancheatdirtydotcom.wordpress.com/

Healthy Eats. Crazy Cheats.

Teaching Social Justice

Talking Back to Dominant Ideologies

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Author S B Mazing

Author, Writer and Dreamer

LadyFace

Laura Gabrielle Feasey

