The Prism Viewpoint

Exploring Life as an Ally, Writer, Future Lawyer/Politician

Oh My Lawd!

Hey guys!

I have not forgotten about this blog, this was one of the best things I can say that I started my freshman year of college. With that being said, I have been ridiculously swamped with everything this semester and definitely fell off the wagon with writing and posting here, I hope ya’ll can forgive me for that. I want to thank Ms. Lisa for still including me in her One Word Challenge Update situation even though I was obviously absent, that makes me feel good and I promise to be more committed to it now that the school year is over. Hopefully this will count for all of the months I missed, fingers crossed!

I have so much to report, well not really but it feels like it! So, I will be collaborating with a friend of mine who happens to be a film and television major and I will be writing a story/script for her to turn into a movie!! I know this is crazy and I never would have thought that I would be doing something like this in college, but since I’ve come here I have realized that this is the place to network and collaborate with people to do different project and create/produce. The vibe has just be so good when I think about this project and any future things I can do. As you all know I am a writer, but it’s really hard for me to write without inspiration or the aching need to work on something I’ve written, and this project has really just invigorated me in my love of writing and made me want to write and do this project well.

More great news, I am officially a double major!! I can now say: “Hello, my name is Tashina Ferguson and I am a English and Government and Politics major with a minor in Social Justice at St. John’s university!!”If that ain’t a mouthful then I don’t know what is. I am excited to start taking classes for my second major, and hopefully that will be the piece that I felt like I had been missing. Don’t get me wrong I love English and won’t drop it for anything, but I got in to the major for the writing and reading aspect of it, not the academic discussion/argument side of it. With Government and Politics I’ll become more knowledgable about the law and how our government works which will help with the wanting the change the world after I graduate.

The next few months will be a wonderful reprieve and hopefully I’ll be able to post more, but after that I will be studying abroad in Rome, Italy for three months!! I don’t know if I mentioned that but, yeah, it came up on me really quick. I can’t believe that this is happening to me, because this is definitely something I hadn’t even thought about before coming to St. John’s and told that I could, and have to, do it and it would be affordable for me. I have a lot of friends who are upper class-men who have studied abroad and they say they went to seventeen different countries while abroad and to think about all the experiences I’m about to have is just mind-blowing and I am so thankful for the opportunity. My money is going to be very tight but I will try and do as much as possible with the little I have, so I will definitely have a lot to write about after those experiences.

In basically two days I will be traveling to Puerto Rico with the Ozanam Scholars Program to do service and immerse ourselves into the culture and really get a global perspective of social justice issues and poverty, so that we can think of ways to work towards eradicating or at least fighting these issues. I am so excited for this and I don’t even have more to say right now about it but when I get there and start experiencing and taking pictures, you guys will hear from me.

I know this was a lot to throw at you and I’m sorry for that. I’ll end this post and come back again if I think of more that I can discuss and make a full post out of. In the meantime, I just want to say thank you for riding with me and supporting me through this new endeavor. All of my readers have a special place in my heart because you are supporting what I’m trying to do in my life and that is no small thing to me, so from the bottom of my heart I really do thank you.10988324_10204480325147849_9033750683446378439_n

3 comments on “Oh My Lawd!

  1. Lisa W Tetting
    May 11, 2015

    First let me say, you are always welcome to post as much or as little as you like with the challenge. I know you are a student and time is precious. Now for the fun part: I am so excited for you to be writing a screen play! That is one of my dreams and I will be waiting to see your name in the credits. Then the chance to study abroad is amazing and Rome! You are going to have a ball. Oh and Puerto Rico, girl when do you sleep. Lol Have fun, be safe and keep saving the world one person at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna
    May 11, 2015

    Busy and inspiring

    Like

Leave a Reply

Archives

Hello there…

tashinadenise

tashinadenise

I'm a young woman who is currently studying English and Government & Politics, as well as Social justice at St. John's University. I am also an aspiring lawyer/collaborator with the Innocence Project. I am just trying to leave a positive mark on this world.

View Full Profile →

JLV College Counseling

Free college admissions and financial aid information and advice

eatcleancheatdirtydotcom.wordpress.com/

Healthy Eats. Crazy Cheats.

Teaching Social Justice

Talking Back to Dominant Ideologies

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Author S B Mazing

Author, Writer and Dreamer

