The Prism Viewpoint

Exploring Life as an Ally, Writer, Future Lawyer/Politician

Struggling Young Author

So,

You guys probably know by this point that I am participating in the Blogging 101 course. Last time I “posted” it was some reblog and I left some comments on the main blog because that was my assignment for that day. Little did I know what gold mine I would find because of this #blogging101 assignment that I really didn’t think was going to be that important. I ended up finding and following a blog by Jacqui Murray called WordDreams. This beautiful blog has a plethora of good information all about writing.

Now, I told you guys my story of how I came to discover my love, or skill, for writing; what I didn’t mention was that I actually started to write a book, maybe series, somewhat based off of my very first short story that I wrote. A lot of the time I don’t actually work on the novel because I feel like it is such a daunting task, and I am truly afraid of writing something not worth reading. I don’t want to write something mediocre and bad, like some books I can think of, and have that be my response. I also feel like I don’t know where to start. I tried to start a character profile, like I was taught, but I got to the point where I am like, okay what do I write about this character now? So, all writing on this one project has ceased, to say the least, and I would love to get back into it because I feel like it could be such a great and influential story. But, how do it get the motivation and confidence and knowledge to keep going and write this thing?

Well, that is where WordDreams and ms. Jacqui Murray came in and saved the day. There were tips about things that happen in stories that detract from them, and also specific questions that I could answer to help develop my character profile, different tips for writing. This blog was just everything I needed to want to start writing again all in one place and I really couldn’t be more thankful for Murray doing such a great job with the blog and putting the information out there for other authors like me who may be struggling with the craft. If you haven’t already, and you are a writer, I encourage you to click on one of the blue links in this post and check out her blog. It is nothing but helpful and even if you don’t need the information right now, you undoubtably could use it at some point in time in your writing career, so look anyways.

I think that maybe i’ll start posting some character profiles for some feedback? I don’t know, I just have a lot of ideas floating around right now. Thanks for reading this rant, post thing. I hope you’ll keep coming back to help me out and see what craziness I’m spouting next. Again, Thank you to Jacqui Murray for her amazing site.

‘Til next time,

Tashina

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2015 by in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Hello there…

tashinadenise

tashinadenise

I'm a young woman who is currently studying English and Government & Politics, as well as Social justice at St. John's University. I am also an aspiring lawyer/collaborator with the Innocence Project. I am just trying to leave a positive mark on this world.

View Full Profile →

JLV College Counseling

Free college admissions and financial aid information and advice

eatcleancheatdirtydotcom.wordpress.com/

Healthy Eats. Crazy Cheats.

Teaching Social Justice

Talking Back to Dominant Ideologies

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Author S B Mazing

Author, Writer and Dreamer

